Cold and cozy with small factoid?

It’s supposed to be 4 degrees tonight in Perry, the closest town to Harmony Farm (about 4 miles away and about 3,000 people). It’s strange to have such cold temperatures and ground that is not frozen! But at least were getting a little winter this winter!

When I got back from my usual walk around the property at sunset, (I haven’t missed a day since I bought the place), Abie, the tenant living downstairs invited me to have dinner. She and Dave (the previous owner) are living downstairs untll they get their place up near Oskaloosa ready. They have 9 acres and are getting the house ready to move into, just like i’ve been getting the upstairs ready. So, I enjoyed dinner with them downstairs where it is toasty. They keep a wood fire burning which I definitely benefit from. The furnace hardly ever runs upstairs, and it’s nice to know that no matter how cold it gets, i won’t have any frozen pipes!

They have 5 dogs and their entertainment during dinner and afterwards was really comical. Bob, the newest addition is 70 lbs. at about 6 months. He’s an English Mastiff. He’ll be a horse some day! He’s big, goofy, clumsy and very playful! His youthful energy is contagious!

The most unusual thing i’ve ever seen was when Abie showed me the diapers that their littlest one wears to bed. I’ve never seen such small diapers! “What about the tail” I ask? No problem…just cut a hole and presto! Perfect doggie diaper so that everyone can sleep with peace of mind! Abie and Dave love animals and even rescued one from the place they bought up north.

It was nice to share food with them, and I enjoyed getting to know them a bit more.

Oh, and I found out that just south of here is the shortest highway in the world: Kansas Hwy 76 to Williamstown, (I thought this was just a couple of houses by the road…but it’s actually a town!) looks like it’s less than a 1/2 mile long on the map, but deosn’t even qualify for the color yellow! I wasn’t able to verify this, but according to google, the shortest highway in the world is Chandler Highway in Melbourn. At just under 2 kilometers, I’d say Hwy 76 is a clear contender!

Leave a Reply

